Planning a Vacation to the British Virgin Islands in 2018?

Before booking take note of the islands Pubic Holidays. You may want to plan your trip around one to experience something different.

The British Virgin Islands are known for their Old Years Eve party. A huge celebration to bring in the New Year. You need to book well in advance to get accommodation for this date.

Other different holidays to experience in the British Virgin Islands are the following.

Territory Day Holiday

This holiday originated in 1956 when the Federation of the Leeward Islands, created in 1872, was dissolved. With that “de-federation”, the Presidency of the Virgin Islands was styled “Colony”. The Colony of the Virgin Islands came into existence on 1st July 1956, the day appointed for the coming into force of the Leeward Islands.

Festival Monday and Festive Tuesday

A celebration of the emancipation from slavery in 1834.  During time the British Virgin Islands showcase the culture and history of our people in grand style with extravaganzas of local and international music, pageants, Food Fairs, j’ouvert (street jamming), parades, gospel celebrations and folklore presentations.

Ursula Day

The day celebrates the discovery and naming of the Virgin Islands by Christopher Columbus. He called them “Saint Ursula and Her 11,000 Virgins. Saint Ursula’s Day is an off-work day. The Royal British Virgin Islands Yacht Club annually organizes a St Ursula’s day race.

 

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
5 Mar Mon Hamilton Lavity Stoutt Holiday
12 Mar Mon Commonwealth Day
30 Mar Fri Good Friday
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday
21 May Mon Whit Monday
16 Jun Sat Queen’s Birthday
1 Jul Sun Territory Day
2 Jul Mon Territory Day Holiday
6 Aug Mon Festival Monday
7 Aug Tue Festival Tuesday
8 Aug Wed Festival Wednesday
21 Oct Sun St Ursula’s Day
22 Oct Mon St Ursula’s Day Holiday
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day